VHScrCap bugs — part 4

EDIT: This just in.  I just managed to reproduce (in full) the “cropping bug” in 1.5.0.  I really don’t know what just made it start happening, since 30 minutes ago it wasn’t occurring.  This might have to do with the well-known issue where VHScrCap’s configuration utility leaves itself lingering in memory (which is actually fixed in the 2.1.x series), so possibly the registry entries never got updated.

Additionally, Vladimir has stated he can reproduce the “cropping bug”, but with webcams or other hardware.  I’ve never seen that happen, ever — only with VHScrCap.

I’m going to try recording a video switching between the two DirectShow filters (VHScrCap vs. SCFH DSF), showing the problem.  I’ll include audio as well, assuming it doesn’t make the file too big.

This morning I decided to download VHScrCap 2.1.4.0 (according to the website, although the actual VHScrCap driver, once installed, is 2.1.5.0) and attempt to reproduce the bugs. Despite the incredibly annoying VHMultiCam feature (which is new to me) getting in my way, I was only able to reproduce (partially; it’s hard to explain) the “cropping bug”, but not in a way that would affect the video capture region itself. I could only partially reproduce it with the “Keep aspect ratio” option disabled. The “mosaic bug” was completely gone.

I uninstalled VHScrCap 2.1.4.0, deleted the leftover registry entries, and ensured that all the .ax files were unregistered/deleted from my hard disk. Then I installed VHScrCap 1.5.0, which is “old”, but labeled stable. Version 1.5.0 was what I originally was using when I found these bugs. Amazingly, I was not able to reproduce either bug using version 1.5.0 (though I’m under the impression 1.5.0 acts like 2.1.4.0 with “Keep aspect ratio” disabled).

Three major changes have occurred since late 2007 and now:

  1. I’m using Windows XP SP3, versus Windows SP XP2
  2. I’m using DirectX 9 end-user runtimes dated June 2008, versus November 2007
  3. I’m using Adobe Flash Player 9.0 revision 124, versus a significantly older version.

This seems to indicate the core of the problem was in XP SP3, DirectX (which includes DirectShow), or Adobe Flash. None of these programs include ChangeLogs, so finding the true source of the fix will prove very difficult. VMware Workstation would come in handy (for installing XP SP2, an older DirectX runtime, and old Adobe Flash), but one thing is for certain:

Presently, I cannot reproduce the problems I originally stated were in VHScrCap.

I’ll be spending the next few days fiddling around with my workstation, seeing if there’s something I’m missing from before. Reproducing these bugs was incredibly easy, and I haven’t forgotten the procedure.

Vladimir, I apologise for stating the bugs are in your software, but I’m still not 100% sure VHScrCap is out of the clear yet. Surely you can see where I’m coming from: if the problems weren’t in VHScrCap, why did switching to another DirectShow filter solve them? That’s the part I can’t figure out.