VHScrCap bugs — part 3

The author of VHScrCap has again responded to my blog, consisting of the following:

  1. Claims SCFH DSF doesn’t store settings — false. Each application you bind it to (e.g. explorer.exe, msnmsgr.exe, etc.) causes SCFH DSF to store the settings in <processname>.ini in the directory where the scfh.ax filter was installed from. SCFH, on the other hand, does not store settings, which makes me wonder which program (SCFH DSF vs. SCFH) he’s actually using.
  2. Continually ignores the fact, despite long walk-throughs and step-by-step explanations, that VHScrCap works perfectly fine (read: every DirectShow filter has the “cropping bug” and “mosaic bug”). The bugs I have described only happen after VHScrCap is shut down and restarted/re-initialised (and continue subsequently). You can delete VHScrCap registry keys to work around the problem, but you’ll have to remember to delete them every time you exit the application.
  3. Suggests that I “re-write all of my blog posts” to inform the world that “these aren’t bugs in VHScrCap”.
  4. Implies that by me stating there’s bugs in VHScrCap, that I am executing slander. I’m not sure what to make of this, and I find it interesting. The definition of slander is defined as comments or actions which would injure a person’s reputation, or defame said person. Calling the author of VHScrCap a thief/murderer/etc. would be slander; mentioning bugs (or “features”) in a piece of software is not slander, regardless of those comments being posted in a blog fashion, in Email, or spoken. And just to cover my ass, there’s nothing libellous about my comments either. There is absolutely no effort on my part to discredit the author or VHScrCap. There is nothing vindicative here. I am simply reporting problems I have found in VHScrCap, and recommending that if people encounter said problems, there are alternative softwares available (SCFH DSF). Let’s not forget that I did approach Vladimir privately (way before I even had this blog), and reported the problems I found, offering to help in my spare time test debug builds or work towards finding a solution — a slanderous or libellous individual would not do such a thing.
  5. As a result of my “slander”, he will possibly contact the WordPress admins and ask them to either close my blog entirely, or posts specific to VHScrCap (I’m not sure which). He apparently hasn’t read the WordPress TOS, applicable sections of which are Section 2 subsection vi (which redirects you to a definition of defamation, which basically repeats what I said above, re: nothing that would destroy his character, as I have no issues with the author personally), Section 5 (Automattic is not responsible for any content posted on a blog, and states “The Website may contain content that … contains technical inaccuracies”), and Section 12 (Automattic is not liable for any content on the site).
  6. Indirectly threatens to turn VHScrCap into a solely commercial piece of software if “users do not respect and help developers”. This is sad. I hope such doesn’t happen, because for most peoples’ needs, VHScrCap is fantastic. It is indeed faster than SCFH DSF, and offers the ability to integrate with your own software, which SCFH DSF cannot. But people need to make the decision of what program suits their needs best, on their own. So there are pros and cons to both programs.

On the flip side, he offers the following positive commentary:

  1. Recommends that I describe bugs in Adobe Flash in verbose detail, offering to help with the technical descriptions, so that users or programmers in the future may benefit from said descriptions.
  2. States that he has put a lot of man-hours into developing VHScrCap, and is happy to make it free, as long as users respect and help developers of free software.

Vladimir seems to be completely unaware that I’m heavily involved in the FreeBSD Project, which is an open-source/community-developed UNIX operating system, and have been involved in open-source projects since 1993. On the other hand, unlike other open-source contributors, I do not play the “you have the source, fix it yourself” or “it’s free, so stop complaining” defence cards. I believe users should have the right to say anything they wish about anything, and that if you release software publicly (which I have and still do), you have a personal responsibility to maintain it.

Vladimir definitely maintains his software, and appears to enjoy maintaining it (why else would he take the time to defend his software here?). I have absolutely no personal qualms with Vladimir, and in fact I appreciate his passion. But his personal character is not what my VHScrCap-related blog posts are about. A person can only go so far with bug reports before saying “I’m out of options. Your program has issues that affect me. You’re claiming they’re not issues. I’m going to switch to another piece of software that doesn’t exhibit those issues”.

That is all I have to say on the matter. Users should read my blog posts, the user comments from Vladimir, download the videos (his and mine), and conclude whatever they wish.